NANA
OSAKI NANA & KOMATSU NANA

Hey Nana,
Do you remember the day we met?
Komatsu Nana        Rieyn
Oosaki Nana            Rainer

Photography            Nik Yan
Special Thanks        Kirisaki & Isaac
Hey Hachi,
I can't be the hero of your story, but the heroine in mine, her name is Nana.
Picture
NANA is the story of two very different young women who share the same name. After meeting on a train to Tokyo, they became inseparable friends.

NANA is about friendship, love, finding your way in life, and chasing your dreams.

I don't usually follow shoujo manga series, but NANA moved me deeply. I found I could identify with both Nana and Hachi, and I was rooting for them all the way - for the fiercely proud Nana to reach her dreams, and for sweet, naïve Hachi to find love. The bond they shared left a huge impression on me as well. They were vastly different, having come from different backgrounds and had different aspirations and beliefs, and yet they bonded so strongly and ultimately remained loyal to each other throughout the series.


Room 707, the apartment that Nana and Hachi shared during their time in Tokyo, was an important component of their story that I wanted to recreate for the shoot. The epic Nik Yan was responsible for the resulting studio setup, and his photography created the warm, soft atmosphere that I wanted.

Also glad that Rieyn agreed to cos Hachi with me! Her portrayal of Hachi's character was just spot on, and helped me get into my own character as well.

Hey Nana,
How come being happy and making your dreams come true are two different things?
Even now, I still don't know why.
Don't just give up, Hachiko.
Life is about getting knocked down over and over, but still getting up each time.
If you keep getting up, you win.
Hey Nana,
You look like a stray cat, wild and proud. But I can see the wound in your heart.
At the time I just thought it was cool. I never realized how hurt you were.
Fin.



Leave a Reply.